I Hate You, Clock.

I don’t think we should ever move the clocks forward. Especially on Sundays. I’ve already lost an hour of my favorite day. That’s crap.

I’ve already tried to get up early, thought I succeeded, yet the clock tells me differently. My brain says it’s early, the birds say it’s early, coma dog says it’s early.

No one is fooled, clock. I know your game. You just took an hour of my life away. While I was sleeping. That’s some sneaky business, right there.

Yeah, yeah. You’ll give it back in 6 months when I’ve become accustomed to it. Thanks. Then I’ll adjust, then you’ll screw me again by making me want to go to bed at 9:00, right when all the good shows are coming on.

What did I ever do to you? I pay attention to you every day. You already run my frickin’ life.

It’s like once every 6 months you have to remind me that you can get me on Sundays with your petty torments. I get it, okay? I am your bitch. Even bitches need a day off. Whatever.

Why can’t you be more like the calendar? He gives us a whole day every 4 years. That’s like adding weeks to our lives. The calendar knows how to show appreciation for obedience and loyalty. I don’t know why you’re such a jerk. Tick, tock, tick, tock… SHUT UP already!!

So that’s it. I’ve had all I can stand. You’re out of my life. I’m leaving you, clock. I’m not even going to look at you. I’m on the sundial from now on.

I can tell time at night by looking at the stars. I think I just have to find Vulcan and multiply by seven. Or add 4. I’ll figure it out. I don’t need you.

At Serendipity, there is a loose version of this system. It’s called “Dip Time” and any event described as happening at “Dip Time” might not happen at all, but if it does and you’re not there, everyone understands it’s because you’re doing something else you want to do. And that can be anything from napping to water volleyball.

In other words, no one has to let a clock dictate where and when to be. There are no expectations, no obligations, no radiations (I needed another “ations” word that sounded like a good selling point).

This is not to say there aren’t some schedules, because Stuart spends a tremendous amount of time making sure the weekends are full of activities. Can’t just “whenever” your way through those, but you also don’t have to participate.

Having said all that, he does a great job working around everyone’s ever-changing schedules (or lack thereof). There’s never a feeling like you have to be somewhere at a certain time. It’s one of the many reasons people come here. You can tell the park was built to provide the ultimate relaxation experience, and they nailed it.

Did I mention how easy it is to see Vulcan from there? Stuart pointed it out to me once. So far from the city, the sky is an incredible sight. I’ve never seen so many stars in my life.

If you haven’t visited before, you are really robbing yourself of something. Even if it’s something you never imagined you’d do, you’re not alone. Most people that frequent this place were once in your shoes, including me. And the best time to discover it is with a full season of fun ahead. (That would be now.)

 

 

 

 

Comments are closed.