Here Comes Halloween

You see, I used to have a problem. I would state my opinion quite plainly, and people would not like it.

Some would say I still have this problem. I would say they could be right, so when I say “used to have a problem,” I meant since the last time I talked to someone. It might be gone now. I don’t know.

It could be my delivery or the words I choose. For instance, when someone else has voiced his/her opinion, I should avoid phrases like “That’s the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard” or “Help I’m slipping into the Twilight Zone” or “Am I being Punk’d?” or “Well we could do that if we were trying to break everything.”

I don’t know. Now that I’ve written it down and read it, I think it’s fine. And the one about the Twilight Zone is funny. Some people need a sense of humor and to stop being dumb about stuff.  Whatever.

And this is why I like the Dip. The friendliness is infectious. The guy they know is laid back and relaxed. This guy is friendly, warm, fun to be around. He doesn’t say things like, “Have you lost your mind? I wouldn’t worry about it. It didn’t seem to be helping us.”

I might be exaggerating a little bit. A lot of times I just think this stuff, then I say it. I don’t know. Maybe it is me. Whatever.

When I get to the park, I think what changes in me is directly related to the environment. I instantly relax. I don’t feel compelled to say things like “I think we should catch that idea and put it in a bag or something before it gains strength and becomes a great fiery eyeball that we’ll need a hobbit and a wizard to destroy.”

And people say I have a communication problem? It’s not my fault I’m right all the time and perpetually speak truths in clever, relatable and insightful ways, while concisely illustrating the point. It’s called “efficiency.” Look it up. I can’t teach you people everything. Whatever.

It’s not that I don’t care, but it’s not that I do. And I think that’s the middle ground you need to find in order to effectively build relationships. I read that in a post once (this one) and have believed it ever since.

Speaking of truths, it might be the most beautiful time of the year at The Dip. The leaves are changing, and as they fall, the colorful Mount Yonah is revealed through the trees.

Most of the visitors to this area (and nearby Helen) will be here over these next couple of months, simply because of the beauty surrounding this place. So if you’re looking for a cabin rental around Helen in October, you’ll get some of the best cabin rates in the entire area.  You’ll also have a lot of fun.

The Halloween party is now a few short weeks away, so don’t make plans (unless they are for that, then proceed). It’s always one of the biggest (if not the biggest) events of the year. You don’t want to miss it.

Comments are closed.