Forced Relaxation

I might sound like a broken record, but I can’t quite explain the sense of relaxation that overwhelms one when settling in at the park.

It says it right on the website. When I first read it, I was like, “Sure. Whatever. I want to see what it’s like to walk around naked.”

After a few days, it became so much more than that. And my story is the same as many members. They show up for a weekend, yadda yadda, they set up a place and become friends. Even family.

I’ve now been here for 4 years. I can’t even believe it’s been that long and each time I’m amazed at the way my stress just goes away. Almost entirely. And I have things to be stressed about.

For example…

I don’t really have an example. It’s part of my formula. Work is stressful, but I’m not going to sit here and drone on about it. In fact, you’ll find very little (if any) work talk in social situations. I like that, because unless you’re a crab fisherman or something, I don’t need to know. And you don’t need to know what I do, because I will tell you. At length. Then I’ll grab your arm when you try to leave me. Then I’ll follow you around until you get it.

Just kidding. I won’t have to follow you around because my grip strength is pretty impressive. You’re not going anywhere, because I’ll also be standing on your foot. You just need to listen, accept the training and await orders.

Today I think I will sit here and do nothing. NOTHING. I might find the motivation to put food in my face, but that entails walking a hundred yards. That’s 1 x 100. 75 steps. That’s 1 x 75.  I’m getting tired just thinking about it.

But this is what we have to do to stay alive. I didn’t make it up. I would have done that whole thing differently. Air. Boom. Done.

Not to question the “grand scheme” and all, but life shouldn’t have to consume life to perpetuate. I don’t mean to get all philosophical on you. I’m just saying if it only took air to live I could just sit here and breathe. Is that too much to ask? I don’t think so. I’m a simple man with simple needs, but I want it to be simpler.

Do I sound like a baby? Good. Then maybe someone will come feed me. Don’t be surprised if I’m wrapped in a blanket and lying in a basket on your doorstep (around lunchish).

One response to “Forced Relaxation

  1. Pingback: Forced Relaxation | Nomad, Geek, Nudie