Oktoberfest in Helen, Ga

Helen, Georgia is one of the most beautiful places in the country. I’m lucky enough to live about 10 minutes away, and I’ll often pop in for a bite to eat and perhaps a cocktail in one of the riverside eateries.

And Oktoberfest, as you might know, is the party of the year in Helen.

I started to Google the origins of Oktoberfest, why it began and how it became such a worldwide recognized event. Then I decided not to, because I’m lazy and it’s ridiculously early. So I decided to just give you the loose facts.

Oktoberfest started in late September one year (probably in Germany) some time after we started recording time.

One chilly September day, someone (probably wearing lederhosen) said, “Hey, we should drink a lot of beer and party for… slightly longer than 2 weeks?”

All of the other Germans in earshot said, “Yah!” and Oktoberfest was born.

The idea would spread, because as it turns out, other countries thought drinking beer for 16 days to achieve perpetual drunkenness was a great idea.

Many people would even expand on this concept by drinking every other day of every other month at a party known as Jafebmaprimajujugustsepoctnovecemberfest.

I attended one in ’94. What a ride.

To be fair, Oktoberfest is more than just about drinking beer. (I think.) At least in Helen. There are many, many things to do and enough to keep anyone busy for a day or two. But just outside of Helen there are also many, many awesome places to go, and as I said before, I’m lucky enough to live in one of them.

If you’ve never visited a nudist park, neither had I before coming to this place. In fact, it’s the only one I’ve ever visited. And since it opened in the mid-nineties, it’s won the AANR’s Friendliest Park Award an incredible 6 times, the most recent awarded a couple of weeks ago.

At the start of the Summer, a couple arrived in an rv with the intention of staying for a couple of days. They traveled here from California, stopping at many places in between. But here is where they chose to stay and they’ve been here ever since.

We’ve spoken a few times and I’m pretty sure they are the happiest, most relaxed people I’ve ever met in my life. A major topic of our discussions is this place, their decision to stay, my decision to stay and just how much we love it.

Like me, they are more about walking around the trees and enjoying the beauty here than they are about the weekend partying, but the people are why we stay.

If you’re visiting Helen for Oktoberfest, you almost owe it to yourself to visit this place. Obviously, it’s not as busy as it is in the warmer months, but that’s also a perfect opportunity to “dip your foot in the pool” and see what actually goes on behind these walls.

One response to “Oktoberfest in Helen, Ga

  1. The sad part is our sweet friends are having to leave tomorrow. They do tell me though that we have become like family to them and they will be back!

Leave a Reply

