Why I Live In This Nudist Resort

Many might wonder what inspires a man to move to a nudist park and live in a box. And I say, “What doesn’t?”

All one has to do is watch the news on any day or any episode of “I wish the Kardashians would explode” and it’s easy to see why I chose to be with real people who don’t give a rat’s ass what everyone else thinks, while also doing what makes them happy, and in the process, not hurting another soul.

Some people think it’s weird to want to be naked and those who partake in public nudity are weirdos. And if that’s how you feel, then you also must think George Clooney, Brad Pitt and Jennifer Aniston fall into this category.

All the above mentioned and a host of others we hold in high regard enjoy and have been linked to public nudity. So they don’t live where they can be naked all the time. That’s their problem. Not mine. 

I guess that’s not entirely true. George does have an Italian villa where celebrity skinny dipping is “a rite of passage” and it’s expected of all guests. Weirdos.

In my opinion, if you have a problem with being naked or seeing another person naked, if it turns your stomach or you’re too uptight and wrapped in your own self-hate to be naked in front of other people, I would please like you to explain why that is a good thing. I’ll give you all the words you need and have the time to hear you out. Just be prepared to lose the argument.

I understand the stigma of my choice, and I might have even felt a similar way at one time, but now that I’ve done it, that stigma… well… it pisses me off. Because my choice was to not muddy my mind with the inconsequential and be. Just be.

I’ve made the decision to get in touch with the gift I was given without squandering it on things that are just… so not important. Some might call this decision”wasted potential.”  I call it “unwasted life.”

I came here to live, to breathe, to live life and to love myself again. (I say “again” as if I ever have.) I came here to experience something real, something pure, and that’s exactly what I’ve done. 

If you think it’s easy to fight the world and go in a different direction than what all conventional logic and society tells you, then you’ve obviously never done it.

To some, I’ve thrown my hands in the air and given up, when in fact I am fighting for what’s most important in this world and what most have long forgotten.

Tonight is the annual Thanksgiving dinner at the nudist park. Tonight, I will sit with friends who were strangers not long ago. That genuinely care about me and my well-being. That offer me heaters and food and support and concern and… love. Love.

This is what I’m thankful for, and to everyone, I truly thank you for allowing this stray cat into your lives.

10 responses to “Why I Live In This Nudist Resort

  1. I would not mind living in a nudist resort and that’s my dream. Maybe after college and while Grad school, I can live in a nude resort full time.

  2. I couldn’t have said it better myself. AMEN!

  3. I wouldn’t say “naked” anything unless it’s food or home. Naked personally speaking and according to the dictionary reveals a vunerability. Nudists/naturists are nude IMHO. Other than that I enjoy all your writing.

    I don’t live in a nudist resort, but we do have 7 private acres.

    • I do certainly think it’s a matter of personal preference. The first several definitions in the dictionary for “naked” pertain to having no clothes on, though vulnerability is one of the word’s many definitions. And in the thesaurus, “nude” and “naked” are synonymous. I say “naked” because it sounds more fun and that’s me in a box (literally).

      On another blog, I was asked to promote an AANR concept called a “Nacation” designed to attract new people to nudism. I recall being told it was a pretty big success. The play is clearly on the word “naked” and I LOVE when people take two words then smash them together to make one fantastic new word. Nacation. Doesn’t that sound like more fun than taking a nudation? I think so.

      Thank you for your comment and I am very glad you enjoy my writing. I try to keep it light and entertaining, but in this case, I thought a more heartfelt thank you to the people who now mean very much to me was very much in order. And especially considering they were about to feed me tons and tons of excellent food.

  4. Perfectly stated.. The people here become your family not just your friends. You can’t find more caring people in the world.

  5. It has ALWAYS been my dream to live in a nudist colony full-time. However, the part of the country I live in is not conducive to that environment. It gets VERY cold in the wintertime.

    It still might be a whole lot of fun, though.

  6. I’m slowly going through these to check them out one at a time. I actually had to do some searching to find them, but glad I took the time and effort. Anyways, you should recall the part of conversation pertaining to “social acceptance”. Yeah, it’s actually hard to go against the grain at any point, but hardest the first time. Just keep in mind that a survival instinct is to survive within a social group. Society at large will say, “Weirdo.”, but individuals may be more accepting and say the complete opposite of what the group will say. Some are, however, too firmly planted in their own ways. May or may not be wrong, or their fault. We are going to be affected by how we grow up and what we are exposed to along this journey we call “life”. I couldn’t call it “giving up”, but I would call it taking a break and finding yourself. I’ve had to do that several times in the past 8 years. Like I said before, you are not only shedding clothing, but you are also shedding away what can be viewed as chains of judgement and materialism. To be naked isn’t easy at first. We hide behind those clothes which give us a false sense of protection, and status (which is part of social survival). When you are stripped of those, you are showing to the world that you are vulnerable and that’s who you really are. You are also shedding that covering that most are taught acts as a way to hide your “shame”, and you find acceptance of who you are. Just remember that no matter what, there are still going to be people who actually care about you and accept you for who you are. Even little interactions on a daily basis with the folks at Serendipity may seem trivial, but I trust you will never take them for granted. You may not realize how important those little things in life are, until they are gone. Just like you said, most people don’t even realize these things until they are even on their deathbed (which is precisely the answer I was looking for). I’m glad that you are taking the time to reflect and be thankful for what you have, and not just on Thanksgiving Day. BTW, I’ve decided that talk would serve as an inspiration to start my own blog. I greatly appreciate that. Apologies for writing a novel here, and for keeping you so long while talking.

Leave a Reply

